Making Kimchi

tumblr_oi8ewuu7bk1vg23iio1_540.jpg

Making kimchi with my in-laws. {김장)

It’s tradition to make kimchi with most of one’s (female) relatives during this time of year. Depending on how big one’s family is and if anyone owns a restaurant, it can take several hours! I walked in to the kitchen and there were three huge baskets piled high with cabbages and the huge metal tub (pictured) filled with the kimchi sauce (김장거리) being swirled around with a paddle as big as my head.  It took a while, but it was fun! 🙂 Even though I’m still not very good at Korean yet, everyone is really nice and speaks slowly.  Also, another tradition I’m all for? Freshly made kimchi paired with steamed pork. That, my friend, tastes like heaven.

Leave a Reply

